Offended by a word

Abnormal – deviating from what is normal or usual, typically in a way that is undesirable or worrying.

Synonyms – unusual, uncommon, irregular, freak etc 

Now while the word itself is harmless. But I don’t like it.

It makes me angry. When I react to something in a different way to everyone else because of my mental illness, I am instantly considered, weird, irregular, a freak! So naturally, I hate the word abnormal.

It sounds stupid, and I get that it is stupid to be offended by a word, but I cannot help it! When someone calls me abnormal or anything related to that in retaliation to my illnesses, I take offence.

I just wish the discrimination against mental illness would vanish. 

One day, maybe. But for now, I have to deal with it. And maybe try and not take offence as badly?

Leave a Reply

